Custom CRM: build, buy, or customize a platform
A custom CRM is one of three choices. Configure when stages, fields, and approvals fit standard objects.
A custom CRM is one of three choices. Configure when stages, fields, and approvals fit standard objects. Customize a platform when the process is distinctive and still a CRM: Odoo Custom, Dynamics 365 with Power Platform or plug-ins, or a Salesforce edition the contract lets you extend. Build new software only when the data model, residency, or ownership rules cannot live on a vendor platform. For 50 users, one year of licenses before tax and implementation runs from discounted Odoo Standard at USD 18,660 to Salesforce Core at USD 117,000 as of October 2026, with higher Salesforce suites above Core and no agreed shop price for a build.
Buyers who search for crm customs or a customizable CRM are usually trying to name that fork. A pipeline with odd stages is configuration. A rule that must cancel a transaction, call another system inside the save, or be retested at every vendor upgrade is custom code on a platform. A requirement that the database, the application, and the upgrade calendar sit entirely outside a vendor cloud is a build. CRM customization vs configuration walks through that split in more detail. The rest of this page prices the platform path and shows what custom code costs to keep.
Which path fits the process you run today
Start from the transaction. Write down the ten steps a deal takes from first quote to cash, and mark which steps a standard CRM object already knows how to do.
Configure when each exception can be a field, a business rule, or an automation that the product already ships. Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise is the tier Microsoft describes as sales force automation with contextual insights, AI, and advanced customization, at USD 105.00 per user per month, paid yearly, as of October 2026. If your team does not need that depth, price Sales Professional at USD 65.00 on the same page before you assume Enterprise. Odoo Standard is Odoo Online and all apps, and it hosts databases without custom modules, at a discounted rate of US$31.10 per user per month beside a second figure of US$38.90 on the Odoo pricing page. Salesforce lists Pro Suite at $100 per user per month and Core at $195 on its Sales Cloud editions page, with prices labeled informational and subject to change.
Customize the platform when the process is still a CRM and the product's objects are the right nouns. You are adding behavior: a credit hold that blocks a save, a price rule the standard engine cannot express, a handoff into your warehouse system at the moment the opportunity closes. On Odoo that means the Custom plan, which is the plan for Odoo Studio, multi-company, the external API, custom developments, and hosting on Odoo.sh or on-premise. On Dynamics 365, Microsoft tells makers to use declarative business logic first and to use Dataverse plug-ins only when that is not enough. Plug-ins are .NET assemblies a developer must create and maintain, according to Microsoft Learn. On Salesforce, have the order form name the edition and the API or code rights it includes. The public price list is not that document.
Build new software when a vendor platform cannot hold the constraint. Typical cases are a data model that is not accounts, contacts, and opportunities, a residency rule that bars the vendor cloud, or an ownership rule that requires you to patch the core product yourself. Salesforce's own essay argues that a homegrown interface is not a CRM, and its FAQ says a custom build can look cheaper up front while the true cost includes developer time, ongoing maintenance, data management, and integrations. The essay publishes no build price. If a supported platform can store the records and enforce the rule, a from-scratch application is a second product you will staff for as long as you use it.
What 50 users cost in licenses for one year
Assume 50 users who each need a full sales license, one legal entity, US list prices as of October 2026, and no add-on apps. The totals below are 50 times the monthly list price times 12. They are arithmetic on published rates. A signed quote can differ. They exclude tax, implementation, data migration, integrations, and custom-code maintenance.
Odoo figures use the discounted per-user rates. Odoo says that discount is valid for 12 months for the initial users ordered. The pricing page also prints a higher companion figure beside each plan. Year 1 below uses the lower figure. Later years use the companion figure.
Salesforce totals assume you pay the published monthly list price for all 12 months. The editions page does not state whether that price requires an annual contract.
- Odoo Standard, discounted rate (List price per user: US$31.10 · 50 users, one year: USD 18,660)
- Odoo Custom, discounted rate (List price per user: US$61.00 · 50 users, one year: USD 36,600)
- Dynamics 365 Sales Professional (List price per user: USD 65.00, paid yearly · 50 users, one year: USD 39,000)
- Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise (List price per user: USD 105.00, paid yearly · 50 users, one year: USD 63,000)
- Dynamics 365 Sales Premium (List price per user: USD 150.00, paid yearly · 50 users, one year: USD 90,000)
- Salesforce Pro Suite (List price per user: $100 · 50 users, one year: USD 60,000)
- Salesforce Core (List price per user: $195 · 50 users, one year: USD 117,000)
- Salesforce Advanced (List price per user: $395 · 50 users, one year: USD 237,000)
- Salesforce Max (List price per user: $550 · 50 users, one year: USD 330,000)
Sources for the row rates: Dynamics 365 Sales pricing, Microsoft, October 2026; Odoo Pricing, Odoo, October 2026; Salesforce Sales Cloud pricing, Salesforce, October 2026. Free Suite at $0 and Starter Suite at $25 are on the same Salesforce page. A 50-user team with a distinctive process will rarely stay on those two, because the customization question shows up at Pro Suite and above, and even there the editions table does not spell out custom-code rights.
Read each row with the plan limits attached. Odoo Standard at USD 18,660 is the lowest full-user total in the table, and it is also the plan that hosts databases without custom modules. The moment you need Studio, custom developments, or the external API, the relevant Odoo row is Custom at USD 36,600 for the discounted first year, and hosting on Odoo.sh is still extra. Dynamics Sales Professional at USD 39,000 sits next to that Custom total. Enterprise at USD 63,000 is the tier Microsoft associates with advanced customization. Salesforce Pro Suite at USD 60,000 is in the same band as Enterprise. Core at USD 117,000 is almost double Enterprise, before any implementation.
A Light User on Odoo is listed at US$8.90. Confirm the billing term on your quote before you mix Light Users into the 50. This scenario assumes none.
What the same 50 users cost after the first year
License math changes when a discount expires and when a customization forces a higher plan. Assume the Odoo discount covers only the first 12 months for the initial users, and budget the companion rates on the same page after that: US$38.90 for Standard and US$76.20 for Custom. Assume Dynamics list prices stay at the October 2026 yearly rates. Assume Salesforce list prices are paid every month for 36 months and do not change. The Salesforce page says prices are subject to change, so treat the Salesforce column as a ceiling you recheck at order time.
- Odoo Standard (Year 1: USD 18,660 · Each later year: USD 23,340 · Three-year licenses: USD 65,340)
- Odoo Custom (Year 1: USD 36,600 · Each later year: USD 45,720 · Three-year licenses: USD 128,040)
- Sales Professional (Year 1: USD 39,000 · Each later year: USD 39,000 · Three-year licenses: USD 117,000)
- Sales Enterprise (Year 1: USD 63,000 · Each later year: USD 63,000 · Three-year licenses: USD 189,000)
- Sales Premium (Year 1: USD 90,000 · Each later year: USD 90,000 · Three-year licenses: USD 270,000)
- Salesforce Pro Suite (Year 1: USD 60,000 · Each later year: USD 60,000 · Three-year licenses: USD 180,000)
- Salesforce Core (Year 1: USD 117,000 · Each later year: USD 117,000 · Three-year licenses: USD 351,000)
Later-year Odoo amounts are 50 users times US$38.90 or US$76.20 times 12. Three-year totals add year 1 to two later years. Still excluded: tax, Odoo.sh, Success Packs, Power Apps, Copilot Credits beyond the Premium allowance, implementation, and maintenance of custom code.
Two shifts are easy to miss. First, Odoo Custom overtakes Dynamics Sales Professional once the discount year ends: USD 45,720 versus USD 39,000 in year 2, on these assumptions. Second, three years of Sales Enterprise licenses, USD 189,000, already exceed three years of Odoo Custom licenses, USD 128,040, before anyone has priced the work. Custom modules move you onto a plan whose subscription excludes maintenance of custom code, and onto hosting that the user license does not include. The license column leaves both of those lines open.
If you operate in Canada, Dynamics 365 Sales has a separate list: CAD 88.20 for Professional, CAD 142.50 for Enterprise, and CAD 203.50 for Premium, per user per month, paid yearly, plus applicable tax, on the Canada pricing page as of October 2026. For 50 users that is CAD 52,920, CAD 85,500, and CAD 122,100 for one year. Keep the Odoo rows in US dollars until your own quote shows a Canadian price.
Which Odoo plan you need for custom work
Standard is the buy-and-configure plan. Custom is the plan that includes custom developments. Odoo is explicit that every plan includes hosting, support, and upgrades of the standard product at no extra fee, and that the subscription does not include Odoo.sh hosting for custom developments, implementation services, or maintenance of custom code. Customers can download a backup of an Odoo Online database and own their data. Those lines are all on the pricing page.
The only published package that prices customization hours is Odoo Success Packs. For new customers, with 15% off the first pack only, the list as of October 2026 is US$493 for Starter (4 hours), US$3,060 for Basic (25 hours), US$5,950 for Standard (50 hours), US$10,625 for Custom (100 hours), and US$21,250 for Pro (200 hours). Returning-customer prices are US$580, US$3,600, US$7,000, US$12,500, and US$25,000. Custom and Pro include app customization, form, report, and workflow changes, and developments. Travel is extra.
Put the Custom pack next to the license table. Assume 50 full users on Odoo Custom and one new-customer Custom pack: USD 36,600 of discounted licenses plus US$10,625 of pack hours is USD 47,225 in year 1, before Odoo.sh and before the monthly maintenance Odoo says applies to extra modules or lines of code. Odoo does not publish that monthly rate. Ask for it as its own line, in writing, before you compare Odoo with a from-scratch bid. More on how those hours get spent is in what Odoo customization costs.
Odoo also says companies under 50 employees usually buy implementation from Success Packs, and companies over 50 employees usually use a partner. Above 250 employees, Odoo asks buyers to contact Odoo directly. A CRM with 50 users can sit on either side of the employee line, because users and employees are not the same count. On the Success Packs estimator, Odoo states that 80% of projects within the selected scope are put in production in 200 hours or less. That statement is Odoo's, and it applies to the scope selected on the estimator. A 200-hour cap is the Pro pack. If your exceptions need more than app customization and a few developments, price the hours beyond that pack before you compare platforms.
Odoo.sh pricing is a calculator for workers, storage, shared versus dedicated hosting, and staging. The page says the hosting price does not include the Enterprise license. Have the quote show workers, storage, and staging as separate lines from the US$61.00 or US$76.20 user price. See Odoo.sh pricing. The license totals on this page leave hosting off on purpose.
What Dynamics 365 adds once Sales is not enough
Sales licenses do not automatically include every customization tool. The US Sales pricing page says some capabilities need extra licenses, and it states that Power Automate and Power Apps each "Requires additional licenses." Copilot Credits are required to run prebuilt agents and custom agents built in Copilot Studio. Sales Premium includes 1,000 credits per user. The Professional and Enterprise prices on that page do not include the same credit allowance.
Power Apps Premium lists at USD 20.00 per user per month, paid yearly, for unlimited apps and pages, premium connectors, and Dataverse entitlements of 250 MB database and 2 GB file per user, pooled. A 2,000-seat minimum tier lists at USD 12.00, which is irrelevant for a 50-user company. Extra Dataverse database capacity lists at USD 40.00 per GB per month, paid yearly, as of October 2026.
If all 50 users needed Power Apps Premium, that would be another USD 12,000 per year (50 times USD 20 times 12). Many rollouts do not look like that. Makers and a few operations roles often need the premium plan, while sellers stay on a Sales license. Price the named roles. On the included capacity, 50 users pool 12.5 GB of database (50 times 250 MB) and 100 GB of file (50 times 2 GB). A custom CRM that stores contracts and photos in Dataverse can cross the file pool long before it crosses the database pool. At USD 40 per GB per month, 10 extra database gigabytes are USD 4,800 per year. Ask for a capacity estimate on your own record volumes before you treat the Sales line as the whole Microsoft bill.
Microsoft's plug-in guidance is the build-versus-customize rule inside Dynamics. Use declarative logic first. Use a plug-in when the rule cannot be expressed that way. The documented disadvantage is that smaller businesses may not have the .NET skills, and that a poorly written synchronous plug-in slows the data pipeline. For a 20 to 100 person company, that is a staffing constraint: either someone on your team can maintain the assembly, or the implementation contract names who will.
Customizations ship as solutions. Unmanaged solutions are the development source. Managed solutions are what you deploy to test and production, and components in a managed solution cannot be edited in place. Deleting a managed solution removes its customizations and the data in custom tables and custom columns that belonged to it. The solution publisher owns a component. After a component is introduced in a managed solution, the publisher cannot be changed. Microsoft recommends one publisher so layering can change later. A solution can be up to 95 MB. Those rules are on Microsoft Learn. The practical consequences: keep the unmanaged source in a repository you control, use one publisher across phases, and do not uninstall a managed solution in production as a way to tidy a release. That uninstall deletes the custom-table data with it.
Where Salesforce list prices stop being a CRM decision
Salesforce's editions page is a price list. Use it to pin the suite, then ask a separate question about custom code. As of October 2026 the US list is Free Suite $0, Starter Suite $25, Pro Suite $100, Core $195, Advanced $395, and Max $550, per user per month. AI can be added to Core and above. The page does not state an annual commitment. Ask the order form to state the term, the edition, and whether custom code is included.
A 50-user Pro Suite year at the published monthly rate is USD 60,000. Core is USD 117,000. A build proposal that says Salesforce and does not name the suite is sitting next to a range of USD 60,000 to USD 330,000 a year before implementation. Salesforce's build-versus-buy FAQ answers "Is it cheaper to build your own CRM than to buy one?" by saying a custom CRM can look cheaper up front, and that most small businesses get a lower total cost from a ready-made CRM. There is no dollar model under that answer. Hold the bid to the same categories the FAQ names: developer time, ongoing maintenance, data management, and integrations.
For a company that wants the CRM on the same platform as finance and inventory, the closer comparison is Dynamics 365 or Odoo. Salesforce can still be the sales system of record. The license table is how you stop a proposal from quoting Starter economics for a Core-sized process.
What custom code costs after go-live
This is the point where a cheap first release gets expensive. A comment on a public thread puts the pattern in one line: "Feels like build works early, but maintenance becomes the real cost." That line is a buyer's reaction, not a price, from a discussion of building versus buying. The vendor documents say the same thing in contract language.
On Odoo, upgrades of the standard product are included. Maintenance of custom code is excluded, and Success Packs warn of extra monthly charges for extra modules or lines of code without publishing the rate. On Dynamics, a plug-in is an artifact a developer maintains, and a managed solution you delete takes its custom columns' data with it. On a from-scratch build, you own the upgrade calendar: security patches, browser changes, the integration that breaks when a carrier changes an API, and the report that finance asks for in month six. Salesforce's FAQ lists that ongoing maintenance inside the true cost. None of the three vendors publish a single maintenance percent you can multiply by a build estimate.
Agency pages do not repair the gap. They contradict each other, and one of them contradicts itself. Cleveroad's 15 May 2026 article lists USD 50,000 to 80,000+ for a small-to-medium CRM with essential features, USD 100,000 to 150,000+ for an advanced system, and USD 5,000 to 20,000+ a year for maintenance, while its own FAQ lists USD 20,000 to 50,000+ and USD 75,000 to 150,000+ for the build bands. Craxinno publishes a range of USD 15,000 to 150,000+. Vantage Point publishes an MVP of USD 150,000 to 500,000+ and maintenance of USD 50,000 to 150,000 per year. Treat all three as marketing estimates. The floors differ by about ten times, and none of them is an awarded project price you can drop into a budget. Do not average them into one custom CRM development cost. Links: Cleveroad, Craxinno, Vantage Point.
A shop essay asks "How much does it cost to build a custom CRM?" on its own page. On a separate Reddit thread, one comment says "Something like this sounds like a $20k+ easy." and another says "That's off the shelf software. He can get that for $97 a month today." Those dollar figures are comments. Keep them out of the budget.
What you can put in a budget, with the assumptions stated above, is the platform side. For 50 users, three years of licenses land between USD 65,340 (Odoo Standard, discount in year 1 only) and USD 351,000 (Salesforce Core at an unchanged list price), with Sales Enterprise at USD 189,000 and Odoo Custom at USD 128,040. Add the only published customization package, the new-customer Odoo Custom Success Pack at US$10,625 for 100 hours, if that scope matches. Then add the line their price pages leave open: who maintains custom code, at what monthly rate, through the next two major upgrades. If the bidder cannot name the person and the rate, you do not yet have a cost.
What one hard rule does to the 50-user budget
Assume 50 full users, one company, and one rule the standard quote screen cannot express. If margin is under a threshold the manager sets, the save is blocked, and a reservation goes to the warehouse system before the save completes. That rule is custom code on a platform. It becomes a from-scratch build only if the reservation cannot run on the vendor cloud at all.
Price the platform the order form requires before you price a new application. Year 1 on Odoo Custom is USD 36,600 of discounted licenses plus the new-customer Custom Success Pack at US$10,625, which is USD 47,225, and then Odoo.sh plus the monthly code-maintenance charge Odoo does not publish. On Dynamics 365, show the Sales plans as separate rows: Professional is USD 39,000 for the year and USD 117,000 over three years, and Enterprise is USD 63,000 for the year and USD 189,000 over three years, plus a .NET plug-in someone has to maintain. Add Power Apps Premium only for the named roles that need it, at USD 20.00 per user per month, paid yearly. On Salesforce, name the suite: Pro Suite is USD 60,000 for the year at the monthly list rate, and Core is USD 117,000. The order form has to say whether that suite may contain the code that blocks the save.
Over three years, Odoo Custom licenses for these 50 users are USD 128,040 (discount in year 1 only, companion rate after that). Dynamics 365 is USD 117,000 on Sales Professional or USD 189,000 on Sales Enterprise when the October 2026 list holds and the order form picks that plan. A from-scratch bid is lower only after the maintainer's monthly rate, implementation, and hosting are inside that same three-year sum. Hold the bid until that person and the monthly rate are written down. Our CRM implementation scoping uses the Flectic Accelerated Delivery Framework for this cut: configure what the ten deal steps already allow, and isolate the blocking rule as its own development with an owner for the next upgrade.
How to compare a build bid with a platform bid
Ask every bidder for the same five lines, in dollars, for the same written scope.
- Licenses for the named users, at the edition the process requires, for three years, with the discount term and any price-hold written down.
- Configuration hours that do not create custom code: fields, views, security roles, reports, and standard workflows.
- Custom code as its own work package: what it does, who owns the repository, and which upgrade it must survive.
- Data migration, integrations, and training, each as its own line. One combined implementation number hides the piece that slips.
- Maintenance after go-live: the monthly charge for extra modules or lines of code, the hours retained, and the name of the person who patches the next release.
Score the bids on named people, hours, references, the phase plan, and code ownership. Partner-program status does not name the consultant in the workshops or the person who commits the plug-in. For Odoo, under the employee counts Odoo itself publishes, Success Pack hours are a public anchor. For Dynamics 365 and Salesforce, implementation is not on the vendor price page. Require the five lines, with custom code and its upkeep priced apart from licenses.
Phase the work so custom code is a later decision. A first phase that configures pipeline, quotes, and the handoff your team can already describe will show whether the remaining exceptions are fields or code. On a CRM implementation, configure Dynamics 365 or Odoo to the process you can demonstrate, then add only the developments the transaction cannot close without. We stay through the upgrade that follows go-live, because that is when custom code proves it still runs. If the first phase already needs a plug-in or a custom module, the design should say so before build starts, and the quote should name the publisher of that solution and the maintainer.
A from-scratch proposal still has to answer three operational questions. Where does the database run, and who patches the operating system? What happens to open quotes if the only developer is out during month-end close? Which of today's reports exist on the Monday after go-live? A vendor release can change a screen your team trained on. That same platform is what keeps the project on your price rule, your pipeline, and your integrations, while the vendor carries login, audit history, and the mobile client.
Bring a sample of ten real deals to that conversation, including two that your current system handled badly. The license tables on this page tell you the subscription. The deals tell you whether you are configuring, customizing, or commissioning software nobody else will upgrade for you.
How Flectic can help
Flectic sets up Dynamics 365 Sales for sales teams of 20 to 100 people in the US and Canada, using the stage rules, quotes and forecasting the platform already has. Build custom code only for the steps the platform cannot cover, because a build bid also has to cover upkeep after go-live. The first build puts lead and opportunity management live for one team before you commit to a wider rollout. Book a free discovery call with Flectic to compare a build bid with a platform bid, using the Dynamics 365 Sales offer as the baseline.
Sources
Dynamics 365 Sales pricing (United States), Microsoft, October 2026.
Dynamics 365 Sales pricing (Canada, English), Microsoft, October 2026.
Power Apps licensing and pricing, Microsoft, October 2026.
Use plug-ins to extend business processes, Microsoft Learn, October 2026.
Solution concepts with Power Platform, Microsoft Learn, October 2026.
Odoo Pricing, Odoo, October 2026.
Odoo Success Packs, Odoo, October 2026.
Odoo.sh pricing, Odoo, October 2026.
Salesforce Sales Cloud pricing, Salesforce, October 2026.
Build vs. Buy CRM in 2026, Salesforce, October 2026.
Custom CRM Development Cost in 2026, Cleveroad, May 2026.
How Much Does It Cost to Build a Custom CRM in 2026?, Craxinno, 2026.
The Hidden Cost of CRM Customization: When to Build vs. Buy, Vantage Point, 2026.
How much for a custom CRM?, Reddit, 2026.
How feasible is it to build your own CRM vs buying one?, Reddit, 2026.
How much does it cost to build a custom CRM?, Juicy Goosey CRM, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
How much does custom CRM development cost?
There is no single list price. Shop guides published in 2026 disagree by roughly ten times, from floors around USD 15,000 to MVP ranges that start at USD 150,000, and one page disagrees with its own FAQ. Ask for licenses, configuration, custom code, migration, and monthly maintenance as separate lines. Compare that bid with three years of list-price licenses for the plan that can hold your rule.
Is it cheaper to build your own CRM than to buy one?
A first build invoice can look smaller than several years of subscriptions. The cheaper path is the one that is lower over three years after you add a named person to patch code, plus integrations and data work. For 50 full users, two worked examples before that maintainer are about USD 65,340 over three years on discounted-then-standard Odoo Standard rates and USD 189,000 for Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise. Salesforce Core at an unchanged monthly list is USD 351,000 over the same three years.
How feasible is it to build your own CRM versus buying one?
A build is feasible when the data model, residency, or ownership rules cannot live on a vendor platform and someone on your side can patch the application at the next release. For a company of about 20 to 100 people, that second condition is the hard one. If you cannot name that person, configure or extend Odoo, Dynamics 365, or a Salesforce edition your contract allows, and keep new software off the shortlist.
What is the difference between a CRM and a database with a nice UI?
A CRM already has accounts, contacts, pipeline stages, security roles, activity history, and a vendor that ships upgrades. A database with a screen still needs those behaviors, plus login, audit history, and a mobile client, written and patched by your team. If your unusual step is a field, a block on save, or a call to another system, put that customization on a CRM the vendor already upgrades.
What should a basic CRM implementation invoice show?
Odoo publishes Success Packs for new customers from US$493 for 4 hours through US$21,250 for 200 hours, and the 100-hour and 200-hour packs include developments. Dynamics 365 and Salesforce do not publish an implementation fee on their price pages. A usable invoice splits configuration hours, custom code, migration, integrations, training, and the monthly charge for maintaining extra code.
Do I need a separate Power Apps license to customize Dynamics 365?
The Dynamics 365 Sales pricing page says Power Apps and Power Automate each require additional licenses. Power Apps Premium lists at USD 20.00 per user per month, paid yearly, as of October 2026. That does not mean all 50 sellers need it. Price the people who build apps or use premium connectors, and have Microsoft show the requirement on your tenant before you multiply USD 20 by every Sales user.
For about 50 users, when does a from-scratch build cost less than licenses plus a partner?
Only after a written bid, with a named maintainer and a monthly rate, is lower across three years than the platform that can enforce your rule. Over three years, 50 users are about USD 128,040 on Odoo Custom, with the discount in year 1 only, and USD 189,000 on Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise, before implementation and hosting. A from-scratch bid is lower only after the maintainer's monthly rate, implementation, and hosting sit in that same three-year sum.