New: Odoo and Dynamics 365 cost calculators.Estimate your costs

Enterprise CRM for a mid-size company: scope, cost and fit

Enterprise CRM is a bundle of security, release control, and integration needs. A headcount of 60 does not settle it.

FlecticUpdated 22 min read

Enterprise CRM is a bundle of security, release control, and integration needs. A headcount of 60 does not settle it. As of October 2026, Microsoft's US yearly list prices put 50 Dynamics 365 Sales Professional users at USD 39,000 a year and 50 Sales Enterprise users at USD 63,000 a year, before tax and before implementation. Those 50-user totals are arithmetic on the published per-user rates. If your sales process stays inside standard objects, one legal entity, and the platform's own security roles, the lower plan is the one to price first.

Microsoft's product overview uses the word enterprises for Sales Premium, Sales Enterprise, and Sales Professional. Sales Professional is a subset of the entities in Sales Enterprise. The name on the invoice is a weak proxy for the project you are about to fund.

What enterprise CRM means for a 50 to 100 person company

For a sales or operations lead, the practical meaning is a short list of capabilities that change the license, the add-ons, and the length of the rollout:

  1. Record access by security role, plus the ability to hide or mask specific columns from people who can otherwise open the record.
  2. A sandbox and a named owner for releases, so a field change does not land straight on the live pipeline.
  3. An outside system that calls the CRM, or the CRM writing orders and invoices back to the ERP.
  4. Field history or audit retention longer than the platform default.
  5. More than one legal entity in the same sales process.
  6. Someone whose job includes administering the CRM after go-live.

Miss most of that list and you are buying a sales force automation plan with reporting. Hit most of it and you are buying governance and integration, which is what stretches a project from a few weeks into several months.

Salesforce's current Sales pricing page has no edition named Enterprise. The commercial names are Free Suite, Starter Suite, Pro Suite, Core, Advanced, and Max. Dynamics 365 uses Professional, Enterprise, and Premium, and Microsoft says to compare Sales capabilities in the Dynamics 365 Licensing Guide. Odoo's commercial split on the pricing page is Standard versus Custom. If you are comparing Odoo Community with the commercial product, use our Odoo implementation guide, which stays on that Standard versus Custom split.

What 50 users cost at current list prices

License list price is the number vendors publish cleanly for a 50-person sales team. Services sit on top, and none of the pricing pages below publish a 50-user implementation package.

Dynamics 365 Sales

Microsoft's US pricing page lists yearly rates as of October 2026. Displayed prices are informational, and the checkout price can differ by currency, country, and region.

  • Sales Professional (US list price: USD 65.00 per user per month, paid yearly · 50 users for 12 months: USD 39,000)
  • Sales Enterprise (US list price: USD 105.00 per user per month, paid yearly · 50 users for 12 months: USD 63,000)
  • Sales Premium (US list price: USD 150.00 per user per month, paid yearly · 50 users for 12 months: USD 90,000)

The 50-user column is 50 times the monthly list price times 12, from the US Sales pricing page. Tax and services are extra. On those figures, putting all 50 users on Sales Enterprise costs USD 24,000 a year more than putting all 50 on Sales Professional, before anyone configures a workflow. Sales Premium for the same 50 users is USD 90,000 a year, USD 27,000 above Sales Enterprise. Relationship Sales, which is Sales Enterprise plus LinkedIn Sales Navigator, is listed as Variable on that US page and requires a 10-seat minimum.

Canada's yearly list prices, as of October 2026, are CAD 88.20 for Sales Professional, CAD 142.50 for Sales Enterprise, and CAD 203.50 for Sales Premium, each plus applicable tax. The same arithmetic gives CAD 52,920 a year for 50 Professional users and CAD 85,500 a year for 50 Enterprise users, plus tax, before implementation. On the Canada page, Relationship Sales remains Variable.

Sales Professional covers core sales force automation, Microsoft 365 interoperation, reporting, and dashboards. Sales Enterprise adds contextual insights, advanced customization, Copilot in Dynamics 365, and agentic capabilities Microsoft names as the Sales Close Agent, natural language insights, email and meeting assistance, and opportunity summaries. It also includes a limited monthly capacity of Sales Premium features: sales accelerator, conversation intelligence, and predictive scoring. Sales Premium includes everything in Sales Enterprise plus 1,000 Copilot Credits, Sales Insights, recommended actions, and data enrichment. The side-by-side of who needs which plan is in Dynamics 365 Sales Professional vs Enterprise.

Salesforce Sales Cloud

Salesforce's Sales pricing page, as of October 2026, lists these USD rates per user per month. The page says the figures are informational and subject to change. It does not state whether the displayed rate already assumes an annual commitment. A separate Shield pricing page says most Salesforce products use annual contracts, while subscription terms vary. Treat the yearly totals below as 12 times the displayed monthly rate.

  • Free Suite (Displayed USD rate per user per month: 0 · 50 users if paid for 12 months: 0)
  • Starter Suite (Displayed USD rate per user per month: 25 · 50 users if paid for 12 months: 15,000)
  • Pro Suite (Displayed USD rate per user per month: 100 · 50 users if paid for 12 months: 60,000)
  • Core (Displayed USD rate per user per month: 195 · 50 users if paid for 12 months: 117,000)
  • Advanced (Displayed USD rate per user per month: 395 · 50 users if paid for 12 months: 237,000)
  • Max (Displayed USD rate per user per month: 550 · 50 users if paid for 12 months: 330,000)

Core at USD 195 for 50 users is USD 117,000 over 12 months before add-ons such as AI or Shield. Pro Suite at the displayed USD 100 rate is USD 60,000 over the same 12 months. The gap is USD 57,000 in list price. AI can be added to Core and above, and several AI rows on the page are marked available for purchase or coming soon. Slack is Free on Free Suite and Starter Suite, Slack Business+ on Pro Suite and Core, and Slack Enterprise+ on Advanced. Flex Credits shown on the page are 500K per org per year on Core, 1M on Advanced, and 2.75M on Max. The currency list on that page covers USD, AUD, GBP, EUR, JPY, and SEK.

Odoo Standard and Custom

Odoo's pricing page, as of October 2026, shows Standard at USD 31.10 and USD 38.90 per user per month, and Custom at USD 61.00 and USD 76.20 per user per month. Yearly and monthly toggles both sit on the page, so a quote has to say which toggle produced the rate. A discount is valid for 12 months for the initial users ordered. One App Free is USD 0 for one app and unlimited users on Odoo Online. A Light User is listed at USD 8.90 for named self-service and shop-floor tasks, quoted through an Odoo advisor.

Assume the rate on your order form is the lower figure, 50 full users, 12 months, and no discount: Standard is USD 18,660 and Custom is USD 36,600. Assume the higher figure on the same basis: Standard is USD 23,340 and Custom is USD 45,720. Light users are extra. Both pairs are arithmetic on the two published figures. That page does not list a Canadian dollar price.

Subscription plans include hosting, maintenance, and unlimited email support on weekdays. They leave out implementation, Odoo.sh hosting for custom developments, in-app credits, and maintenance of custom code. Odoo.sh hosting is a separate line even though Custom allows Odoo Online, Odoo.sh, or on-premise.

What the same list prices look like at 60 users

Fifty is a round comparison. Many companies in this range sit closer to 60 full users. Assume 60 full users, every user on the same plan, October 2026 list rates, before tax and before any discount, and no services. For Salesforce, assume the displayed monthly rate is paid for 12 months. For Odoo, run the math twice, once on each published figure.

  • Dynamics 365 Sales Professional: USD 46,800
  • Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise: USD 75,600
  • Dynamics 365 Sales Premium: USD 108,000
  • Salesforce Pro Suite, displayed rate times 12: USD 72,000
  • Salesforce Core, displayed rate times 12: USD 140,400
  • Salesforce Advanced, displayed rate times 12: USD 284,400
  • Odoo Standard at USD 31.10: USD 22,392
  • Odoo Standard at USD 38.90: USD 28,008
  • Odoo Custom at USD 61.00: USD 43,920
  • Odoo Custom at USD 76.20: USD 54,864

On the Dynamics rows, Enterprise is USD 28,800 a year above Professional, and Premium is USD 32,400 a year above Enterprise. The Canada yearly list for the same 60 users is CAD 63,504 for Professional, CAD 102,600 for Enterprise, and CAD 146,520 for Premium, plus applicable tax, using the Canada price page. None of these rows include Shield, AI add-ons, Light Users, Odoo.sh, travel, or implementation hours.

Read the table down a column and the spread is wide. A 60-user team on Dynamics Sales Enterprise at USD 75,600 sits in a different budget from the same team on Salesforce Advanced at USD 284,400. Both figures are license list. The project cost is still a separate quote. Odoo Custom at the higher published figure, USD 54,864, is under the Dynamics Enterprise row, and Odoo Standard at the higher figure, USD 28,008, is under Dynamics Professional. That comparison holds only for the license line. The moment you add multi-company, Studio, or an outside system calling Odoo, you are on the Custom row, and the implementation hours are still unpriced.

If 10 of the 60 people only need Odoo shop-floor or self-service tasks, the published Light User amount is USD 8.90 each. The order form has to show whether that amount is monthly, so leave the 12-month total off the comparison until the billing period is stated. The quote still has to come through an Odoo advisor. Do the same split test on Dynamics and Salesforce with your own role list. The license calculator above prices Dynamics seats, and the bidder should show the Salesforce suite name next to each role before you accept a single rate for the whole company.

What security and integration do to the price

The seat price rarely includes every control a finance or IT lead will ask about in a security review. The three platforms put those controls in different places.

Dynamics 365 Sales runs on Dataverse. Users authenticate with Microsoft Entra ID. Environments are security boundaries. Record access is controlled by security roles, and column-level security can hide or mask specific columns. Column-level security does not apply to the system administrator role. The Dataverse system administrator can still read columns masked for managers, and the role design has to deal with that exception on purpose. Those controls sit in the platform documentation for the product you already license. Shield-style pricing does not apply to them.

Salesforce Shield is a paid add-on of four products, sold as a bundle or individually: Platform Encryption (AES-256, including customer-managed keys), Event Monitoring (80 or more event types), Field Audit Trail (up to 10 years and up to 200 fields per object), and Data Detect. Salesforce says the standard platform retains field history for 18 months. Shield's contract price is a percentage of spend on applicable Salesforce products. The Shield pricing page does not publish that percentage, and there is no public per-user Shield rate. Ask each bidder to price Shield, or the individual component you need, as its own line, with the percentage written down. A 30-day trial is mentioned on that pricing page.

On Odoo, Custom is the plan that adds Odoo Studio, multi-company, the external API, and the choice of Odoo Online, Odoo.sh, or on-premise. Standard includes all apps on Odoo Online and leaves out that external API. External API means an outside system calls Odoo. Calls that Odoo initiates to payment, shipping, VoIP, or bank services are outside that definition, and those calls stay on Standard. A shipping connector that Odoo calls is a different budget line from a data warehouse that calls Odoo.

A 60-person distributor that needs column masking and Entra ID sign-in is describing capabilities Microsoft documents on Dynamics 365. A company that needs customer-managed encryption keys and 10-year field history on Salesforce is describing Shield, priced as a percent of spend. A company that needs a second legal entity and an outside system calling the CRM on Odoo is describing the Custom plan. Headcount of 60 does not force that plan on its own.

What implementation scope looks like at 50 users

License math is the smaller published number. The open risk is services. The vendor pages stop at list price and, for Odoo under 50 employees, at packaged hours.

Salesforce's implementation guide says duration varies with size, workflow complexity, and customization: a few weeks for small businesses, and several months for larger enterprises with intricate integrations. The guide stays qualitative. It leaves dollar cost and a 50-user timeline off the page.

Microsoft's Dynamics 365 implementation guide uses Success by Design stages named Strategize, Initiate, Implement, Prepare, and Operate. Microsoft says the guide is relevant for medium-sized and larger organizations, and it points smaller or overwhelmed buyers toward Business Central. The guide does not publish a fee or a week count for a 50-user CRM.

Odoo draws two lines, and they are different tests. Companies under 50 employees usually buy Success Packs from Odoo. Companies above 50 employees usually use a partner for local project management. Companies above 250 employees should contact Odoo. Separately, the project estimator says that above 50 users the buyer should contact Odoo for an in-depth analysis. Success Packs are the under-50-employee path.

New-customer Success Packs, with 15 percent off the first pack only, list at USD 493 for 4 hours, USD 3,060 for 25 hours, USD 5,950 for 50 hours, USD 10,625 for 100 hours, and USD 21,250 for 200 hours. Returning-customer prices are USD 580, USD 3,600, USD 7,000, USD 12,500, and USD 25,000. Travel time and expenses are extra. Odoo says 80 percent of projects within the estimator's scope are in production in 200 hours or less. Odoo also states a 98 percent implementation success rate versus 65 percent without a success pack, and labels that comparison as its own figure. The largest published pack, 200 hours and USD 21,250 for a new customer, sits inside the under-50-employee Success Pack path. The partner path above 50 employees and the estimator path above 50 users are the other two tests. On the quote that follows either of those, hours, travel, custom code maintenance, and Odoo.sh hosting need their own lines.

The expensive mistake is buying the higher seat for every user while the services scope stays blank. The license gap between Dynamics Professional and Enterprise is USD 24,000 a year for 50 users. Services sit on top of that gap, and they were not published as a 50-user package on any of these pages. The line-by-line view of what a 50-user project usually contains is in our guide to CRM implementation cost for 50 users.

Where scope risk turns weeks into several months

Salesforce's own split is the public statement of timeline you can hold a bidder to: a few weeks when the business is small, several months when integrations are intricate. The same company can land in either description. A 70-person manufacturer with one pipeline, standard opportunity fields, and no ERP write-back looks like the short case. The same headcount with three legal entities, a warehouse system that must read orders from the CRM, and a requirement to retain field history for a decade looks like the long case.

  1. Custom tables and server-side logic have to be specified, built, tested, and owned after go-live. On Odoo, maintenance of custom code sits outside the subscription, and Odoo.sh hosting for those developments sits outside it too.
  2. ERP write-back and any integration the vendor counts as an external API need mapping, error handling, and a person who watches failed messages. On Odoo that external API is a Custom-plan feature. Calls Odoo itself makes to a bank or a carrier fall outside that feature.
  3. Field-level secrecy has an admin exception on Dataverse: column-level security does not apply to the system administrator role. The Dataverse system administrator can still read columns masked for managers, and the role design has to deal with that exception on purpose.
  4. Audit past the default means a Salesforce Shield component. Field Audit Trail goes up to 10 years and up to 200 fields per object, against 18 months of standard field history. The price is a percent of spend that Salesforce does not publish, so it stays off a seat-price spreadsheet until someone asks.
  5. A dedicated admin and a sandbox continue after go-live. Microsoft's guide is written for medium-sized and larger organizations and organizes the work into Strategize, Initiate, Implement, Prepare, and Operate. Operate is the stage after go-live. Budget a person for it.

Our target for a first usable phase is 8 to 12 weeks when that phase is limited to the pipeline, the accounts, and the one integration the company cannot operate without, with the rest queued. That is Flectic's delivery target.

How to choose the tier without overbuying it

Price the cheapest documented feature that covers each yes: a Dynamics seat, Shield, the Odoo Custom plan, or services hours. A Dynamics upgrade is the answer only for what Microsoft places on Sales Enterprise or Sales Premium. For a single-entity sales team under 100 people, with standard objects and no outside system calling the CRM, Sales Professional at USD 65 per user per month is the plan to test first. Move to Sales Enterprise, at USD 105, for advanced customization, lead-to-cash, forecasting, in-app marketing, and the Copilot capabilities on that plan. Move to Sales Premium, at USD 150, for full Sales Insights and 1,000 Copilot Credits. Column masking and Entra ID sign-in sit in the platform already. A named release owner is staffing. Passing 50 employees leaves the seat choice open.

On Salesforce, Pro Suite at the displayed USD 100 rate is the comparison row, and Core at USD 195 is the step that adds 500K Flex Credits per org per year. Slack Business+ is already on Pro Suite. Advanced at USD 395 is the row that moves Slack to Enterprise+. Field history past the Salesforce default of 18 months is Shield, priced as a percent of spend. Moving all 50 users from the Pro Suite rate to the Advanced rate changes the 12-month list comparison from USD 60,000 to USD 237,000, before Shield. Have the bidder show which row of the current price page contains the feature your team circled.

On Odoo, Standard covers all apps for teams that can live without Studio, multi-company, on-premise, and the external API. Custom is the step when those are real requirements. Confirm on the order whether you are paying the USD 31.10 figure or the USD 38.90 figure for Standard, and the USD 61.00 figure or the USD 76.20 figure for Custom.

Use the same tests on the implementer that you use on the software. Ask for the named consultants, the hours by workflow, two references at a similar headcount, a phase plan with a first release you can run the business on, and a written statement of who owns the custom code. Odoo already points companies above 50 employees to a partner for local project management. Microsoft's implementation guide is aimed at medium-sized and larger organizations. Named people, hours, references, a phase plan, and code ownership are the filter to use on the proposal. CRM implementation at Flectic is scoped in phases: discovery, configuration, data migration, training, and support after go-live. The license decision and the phase boundary belong in the same conversation, which is what Dynamics 365 Sales implementation is set up to do with your user list.

What to put in the first statement of work

A useful first contract is narrow. It names the users, the plan each role is being quoted on, the workflows in phase one, and the lines that are excluded.

Include these lines every time, including when the vendor prefers one blended services number:

  1. License SKUs and the price page date. For Dynamics, state Professional, Enterprise, or Premium at the yearly list rate you were shown, and note that checkout can differ by country. For Salesforce, state the suite name on the current price page and whether AI or Shield is included. For Odoo, state Standard or Custom and which of the two published monthly figures is on the quote.
  2. Data migration as its own hours estimate: accounts, contacts, open opportunities, and the activities you still need. Historical email is a different volume from open pipeline.
  3. Integrations one by one. Mark each as the CRM calling out (payment, shipping, bank, phone) or an outside system calling in. The second kind is Odoo's external API and belongs on Custom.
  4. Security design: roles, column or field restrictions, and the admin exception. If you need Salesforce history beyond 18 months, Shield's Field Audit Trail is a separate commercial line.
  5. A release path: sandbox, who may promote a change, and who supports the system in the Operate stage.
  6. Custom code ownership and the maintenance fee after go-live. Odoo's subscription leaves maintenance of custom code to you.
  7. Travel, if anyone is on site. Odoo Success Packs bill travel separately, and any other bidder can do the same.
  8. A phase-two list of workflows you are choosing to postpone, so they cannot re-enter phase one in week six.

Take that list into the RFP. The commercial comparison is then a license page you can recheck, plus hours you can compare. Our CRM implementation work starts from that written scope, with the first phase small enough that your team can run it while the rest of the design is still in discussion.

When the fit check shows several pressures at once, book the call before you ask for proposals. We will order the yeses into a phase plan, mark which add-on is a separate purchase, and tell you which tier we would configure for the first release.

How Flectic can help

Flectic sets up Dynamics 365 Sales for sales teams of 20 to 100 people in the US and Canada that sell through long cycles and forecast in a spreadsheet. Our Dynamics 365 Sales implementation builds stage rules and quotes on the opportunity, so the pipeline is one you can forecast from. A fixed-price first phase delivers a working pipeline before you commit the full budget. Book a free discovery call to scope a first release with Flectic.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

How much does Salesforce Shield cost?

Salesforce prices Shield as a percentage of spend on applicable Salesforce products and does not publish the percentage or a per-user rate. Most Salesforce products use annual contracts, though terms vary, and the Shield pricing page mentions a 30-day trial. Ask the bidder to write the percentage, the products it applies to, and the dollar result into the quote before you compare it with a seat-only spreadsheet.

What does Salesforce Shield include, and do I need all four components?

Shield is four products sold as a bundle or individually: Platform Encryption with AES-256 and customer-managed keys, Event Monitoring for 80 or more event types, Field Audit Trail for up to 10 years and up to 200 fields per object, and Data Detect. Standard Salesforce field history is 18 months. Buy Field Audit Trail when you need history past that window, Platform Encryption when you need your own keys, and Event Monitoring when you need the event log. You can leave out the components you do not have a policy for.

Does my business need Salesforce Shield?

You need a Shield conversation when the security review asks for customer-managed encryption keys, event monitoring, data detection, or field history beyond the 18 months Salesforce keeps on the standard platform. A sales team that can live with security roles and 18 months of field history can stay off Shield. On Dynamics 365, column masking and Entra ID sign-in are documented on the platform itself, so a Salesforce Shield line item is the wrong comparison for that requirement.

How long are the CRM contracts?

Dynamics 365 Sales list prices on the US and Canada pages are paid yearly, and checkout can still differ by currency, country, and region. Salesforce says most of its products use annual contracts, while subscription terms vary, and the Sales price page does not state that the displayed monthly rates already assume an annual commitment. Odoo's discount is valid for 12 months for the initial users ordered. Read the order form for the term, the renewal, and which price toggle was used.

What is the difference between the Odoo Standard plan and the Custom plan?

Both plans include all apps. Custom adds Odoo Studio, multi-company, the external API, and a choice of Odoo Online, Odoo.sh, or on-premise. Standard runs on Odoo Online and does not include that external API. The pricing page shows two monthly figures for each plan because yearly and monthly toggles are both present, so the quote has to name which figure you are paying. Odoo.sh hosting for custom developments is extra on either path.

What does Odoo's external API mean?

External API means an outside system calls Odoo, and that access sits on the Custom plan. Calls that Odoo initiates to payment, shipping, VoIP, or bank services stay on Standard. A warehouse that pulls orders out of Odoo is the Custom case, and a carrier lookup that Odoo starts is the Standard case, so mark each integration before you pick the plan.

Should I hire a CRM implementation partner?

Odoo says companies above 50 employees usually use a partner for local project management, and its estimator sends buyers above 50 users to Odoo for an in-depth analysis. Microsoft's implementation guide is written for medium-sized and larger organizations. Hire help when you need named consultants, hours by workflow, references at a similar headcount, a phase plan, and a written owner for custom code. A company under that line, with one entity and standard objects, can often stay inside a smaller configuration effort.