New: Odoo and Dynamics 365 cost calculators.Estimate your costs

Sage vs QuickBooks: which fits a growing company

Sage 50 and QuickBooks can both carry a company through the next twelve months, and they run out of room for different reasons.

FlecticUpdated 23 min read

Sage 50 and QuickBooks can both carry a company through the next twelve months, and they run out of room for different reasons. As of October 2026, US QuickBooks Online Plus is USD 140 per month for 5 users with inventory, and Advanced is USD 340 per month for up to 25 users. Intuit's comparison, citing Sage as of 24 October 2024, lists Sage 50 Pro at USD 60.08 per month and Quantum at USD 177.17 per month for one user and up to 40 users, annual commitment, with the extra-user price not stated. Confirm the Sage figures on sage.com. Several legal entities on one ledger is the point where we price Business Central beside either product.

For a single US company that needs bills, a short close, and light stock, QuickBooks Online is the product you can price from a live page today. Sage 50 still matches a desktop habit: industry reports, job costing on Premium, and an annual subscription. Switching from one to the other in two years still leaves a second company file as a second close. That ceiling is the decision, and the tables below are the inputs.

Sage 50 vs QuickBooks in one pass

Use this as the first filter. User counts are the published caps, and Sage dollars are Intuit's reading of Sage as of 24 October 2024, seen again on Intuit's comparison in October 2026. They are a dated reference, and you should re-quote them before a purchase order.

  • Where it runs (QuickBooks Online (US): Cloud subscription. US page says no annual contract and you can cancel anytime. · Sage 50 (US, dated): Desktop software with remote data access and cloud backups. Annual commitment on the prices Intuit quoted.)
  • Users (QuickBooks Online (US): Free and Simple Start cover 1 user, Essentials covers 3, Plus covers 5, and Advanced covers 25 with no extra user fee stated for those 25. Paid plans below Advanced include 2 accountants; Advanced includes 3. Free does not include accountant access. · Sage 50 (US, dated): Pro price quoted as one tier. Premium price varies by users. Quantum quoted from one user up to 40.)
  • Inventory (QuickBooks Online (US): Tracking on Plus and Advanced only. · Sage 50 (US, dated): Premium adds advanced inventory. The product includes over 150 reports, including distribution.)
  • Job or project cost (QuickBooks Online (US): Project profitability, budgets, and class and location tracking (up to 40) on Plus. Advanced: unlimited classes and locations. · Sage 50 (US, dated): Premium adds job costing, budgeting, and an audit trail.)
  • Payroll (QuickBooks Online (US): US Workforce bundles are a separate priced stack. Canada payroll is a paid add-on. · Sage 50 (US, dated): Not in the October 2024 price citation. Ask Sage to price payroll for your province.)
  • More than one legal entity (QuickBooks Online (US): Extra company subscriptions. Canada offers a multi-company discount by phone. That is not one set of books. · Sage 50 (US, dated): One company file per installation is the pattern these editions are sold on. Ask Sage how a second company is licensed.)
  • Commitment (QuickBooks Online (US): US: no annual contract on the pricing page. Canada: annual billing typically saves about 10% versus month-to-month and generally does not stack with an introductory monthly promotion. · Sage 50 (US, dated): Annual commitment on Pro, Premium, and Quantum in Intuit's 24 October 2024 citation.)

Sources for the QuickBooks column are the US pricing page and the inventory page. Sage columns come from Intuit's Sage comparison, which dates the Sage site to 24 October 2024. Canada billing is on Intuit Canada's pricing FAQ.

Desktop QuickBooks is a different product from Online. In the US, QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is described as up to 40 users and up to 1 million customers, vendors, and inventory items, which Intuit says is 6 times the list capacity of Desktop Pro or Premier, on the Desktop solutions page. Ask Intuit for the current Desktop Pro and Premier subscription before you put either one in the budget.

What QuickBooks Online costs in the United States

Figures below are list prices on the US pricing page as of 5 October 2026, before the 50% introductory discount for new buyers. The discount runs three months. After that, budget the list price. A Free plan is USD 0 for 1 user and does not include accountant access.

  • Simple Start (List per month: USD 38 · Intro for 3 months: USD 19 · Who it covers: 1 user plus 2 accountants · What you gain at this tier: Core books. Inventory tracking is not on this plan.)
  • Essentials (List per month: USD 85 · Intro for 3 months: USD 42.50 · Who it covers: 3 users plus 2 accountants · What you gain at this tier: More people in the file. Inventory and project profitability still start at Plus.)
  • Plus (List per month: USD 140 · Intro for 3 months: USD 70 · Who it covers: 5 users plus 2 accountants · What you gain at this tier: Inventory, project profitability, budgets, classes and locations up to 40.)
  • Advanced (List per month: USD 340 · Intro for 3 months: USD 170 · Who it covers: 25 users plus 3 accountants · What you gain at this tier: Unlimited classes and locations, custom user permissions, workflow automation, Excel sync, batch invoices, revenue recognition, priority support.)

A 5-person trading company that receives stock and wants project profitability is on Plus at USD 140 a month once the intro ends, USD 1,680 a year. The sixth person who must post transactions pushes the file to Advanced at USD 340 a month, USD 4,080 a year, because Plus stops at 5 users. Advanced then has room up to 25 users at that same subscription, which is why a firm at 6 users and a firm at 20 users can show the same software line.

Payroll is extra. On the US Workforce pricing page as of 5 October 2026, before 50% off the base for 3 months: Workforce Payroll plus Simple Start is USD 88 per month plus USD 6.50 per employee per month; plus Essentials is USD 125 plus USD 6.50 per employee; Workforce Premium plus Plus is USD 203 plus USD 10 per employee. Promo checkout rates shown are USD 44, USD 62.50, and USD 101.50 per month plus the same per-employee fees. The page says no annual contract. For 12 employees on Workforce Premium plus Plus, the list after the promo is USD 203 plus USD 120, or USD 323 per month. That bundle is the payroll-plus-Plus stack, so do not also add a separate Plus subscription on top of the USD 203 base.

Intuit's own FAQ on the US pricing page answers "What's the difference between QuickBooks Online Advanced, Intuit Enterprise Suite, and QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise?" by positioning Advanced for up to 25 users with no extra user fees, Desktop Enterprise for up to 40 users, and Intuit Enterprise Suite as the multi-entity product for heavy project costing in construction or services.

What Sage 50's US price was in that October 2024 citation

Treat this table as a ceiling check against a competitor's page. Intuit lists these amounts and says they come from Sage as of 24 October 2024. Use them as that dated reference, and get a current Sage quote, including extra users, before you compare a renewal.

  • Pro Accounting (Amount Intuit listed: USD 60.08 per month · Commitment and scale: Annual commitment · What that edition adds: Desktop accounting. Reports cited across the Sage 50 line: over 150, including construction, manufacturing, and distribution.)
  • Premium Accounting (Amount Intuit listed: USD 103.92 to USD 239.17 per month · Commitment and scale: Annual commitment. The range depends on user count. · What that edition adds: Job costing, advanced inventory, budgeting, and an audit trail.)
  • Quantum Accounting (Amount Intuit listed: USD 177.17 per month for one user · Commitment and scale: Annual commitment, with the cited price covering one user while the edition allows up to 40 users and the extra-user price is not stated. · What that edition adds: Role-based permissions and workflow management.)

On those dated figures, one Quantum user at USD 177.17 per month is USD 2,126.04 per year before extra users. Premium at the bottom of the quoted range (USD 103.92) is USD 1,247.04 per year. Premium at the top (USD 239.17) is USD 2,870.04 per year. The citation gives Quantum's one-user start and the 40-user cap, and it stops there on price. A 10-user Quantum budget needs Sage to write the per-user add-on.

Intuit's line that "Sage's pricing structure tends to be higher" is marketing copy on that comparison page. Use the line items above, then your own Sage quote. A higher subscription with job costing can still be the smaller project if your estimators live in Sage reports today and QuickBooks would mean rebuilding those layouts.

Sage Intacct is a footnote, and it is a different product. Intuit describes it as the cloud financial system, with custom pricing, an annual subscription, and no public price. The comparison buyers mean by sage 50 vs quickbooks is about Sage 50. Price Intacct only if you already know you want a cloud finance suite and a sales-led quote.

Where both products stop

User caps are published and easy to check. The operating limits show up in inventory, jobs, and a second company.

Inventory tracking in QuickBooks Online starts at Plus, per the inventory page: quantities and value inside the accounting file. Sage 50 Premium adds advanced inventory, and Intuit's comparison says the Sage 50 report library includes manufacturing and distribution. Have each vendor post a sample of your items the way the warehouse, purchasing, and finance would on a Tuesday. A quantity on hand and a cost on the item card covers a distributor's count. A production order, labor on the shop floor, and a bill of material need to be shown on your items before you plan the plant on that product.

Project profitability in QuickBooks Plus and job costing in Sage 50 Premium both attach cost and revenue to a job. Heavy project costing, in Intuit's own split on the pricing FAQ, is what Intuit Enterprise Suite is for, in construction or services. If your jobs need that heavier costing, ask for the posting on a live job before you renew. A job report you export and finish in a workbook means the ledger and the job are still two processes.

Multi-entity is the shared ceiling the edition charts skip. QuickBooks sells another subscription per company. In Canada, Intuit's pricing FAQ says owners who need several Online subscriptions may get a multi-company discount by calling sales at 1-888-829-8589 or, in one FAQ answer, 1-888-908-3802. That is the answer to "Can I purchase multiple QuickBooks accounts at a discount?" The discount applies to extra company subscriptions. Each company remains its own set of books. Sage 50's quoted editions are desktop company files with an annual commitment. A second company is another file, another close, and another login for the owner who wants one cash picture.

Dynamics 365 Business Central is the system we put next to that ceiling. Business Central for companies leaving Sage 50 or QuickBooks holds finance, inventory, and jobs in one application, with a company structure that can roll up. Microsoft's US Business Central price as of 5 October 2026 is Essentials at USD 80 per user per month and Premium at USD 110, both paid yearly, plus Team Members at USD 8 per user per month, paid yearly. The US page says prices are informational and can vary by country. The Canada price page lists Essentials at CAD 108.50, Premium at CAD 149.20, and Team Members at CAD 10.90 per user per month, paid yearly, plus applicable tax. Microsoft Learn, updated April 2026, says Business Central can consolidate general ledger entries from two or more companies, including different charts of accounts, fiscal years, currencies, and environments. Eliminations are a manual journal after the consolidation. Budget that journal. You post it in one environment. Two QuickBooks companies remain two files.

QuickBooks, Sage, and Canadian tax

Canadian buyers searching sage 50 vs quickbooks are often choosing a replacement for a desktop file, and Intuit's Canada FAQ is specific. On Intuit Canada's pricing FAQ, the question "Is QuickBooks Desktop still available in Canada?" is answered directly: QuickBooks Desktop is no longer available for new subscribers in Canada. Existing subscribers can still use it. Support for QuickBooks Desktop 2023 and older versions ends after 31 May 2026. Intuit recommends QuickBooks Online for most Canadian small businesses. If your Sage 50 file and a QuickBooks Desktop 2023 file are both on the same office server, the Desktop support date is the one with a published end.

Canadian Online plan names, as of October 2026: Lite (1 user, no accountant access), EasyStart (1 user plus an accountant), Essentials (up to 3 users), Plus (5 users plus an accountant), and Advanced (25 users plus an accountant). Inventory and project profitability start at Plus, and the Canada Plus page describes Plus as the step that adds those on top of Essentials. Plus tracks up to 40 classes and locations. Advanced is unlimited. One external accountant seat is included and does not count toward the plan user limit.

The Canada pricing page advertised "90% OFF QuickBooks + Payroll for 6 months" as of 5 October 2026. Read the checkout total for EasyStart, Essentials, Plus, or Advanced, including the term and payroll, before you put a CAD figure in the budget. A freelancer block on that page is a separate offer. The same FAQ says annual billing typically saves about 10% versus month-to-month, the discount varies by plan, and it generally does not stack with a buy-now introductory monthly promotion.

Sales tax on the Canada feature grid is described as calculated and tracked so you can file with the CRA. The Canada Revenue Agency GST/HST page says businesses charge, collect, and remit GST/HST, and if a reporting period begins in 2024 or later, GST/HST returns must be filed electronically. That filing duty stays with the business. Ask the vendor to show a British Columbia or Quebec invoice and the report you would give the province, because PST and QST need their own test on your file.

Canada payroll is a paid add-on named Core, Premium, and Elite, as separate monthly subscriptions. Take the dollar amount from checkout. Intuit says the add-on calculates CPP, EI, and federal and provincial income tax and can produce T4 and T4A slips. The CRA page on EI premiums says employers deduct EI premiums and contribute 1.4 times the employee premiums, and Quebec employment uses reduced EI rates plus Quebec Parental Insurance Plan premiums. On a demo, include a Quebec employee beside an Ontario one so both calculations are visible.

Sage 50 in Canada needs its own quote: edition a new buyer can purchase, whether payroll for your province is included, the CAD amount, and the named-user count. The US Quantum cap of 40 users and the October 2024 US dollars do not transfer to that quote.

The bill after the subscription

Intuit Canada's FAQ asks "Are there any additional costs beyond the subscription price?" on the Canada pricing page. For these two products the extras that change a 20-person budget are payroll, a second company, and the people who post besides the bookkeeper.

On US list prices, a company with 4 accounting users and 18 employees can look cheap on Essentials at USD 85 a month and then add Workforce. Essentials paired with the Workforce Essentials bundle is USD 125 plus USD 6.50 per employee, so 18 employees add USD 117. The payroll bundle price is the number to use, USD 242 per month after the three-month promo, because it already includes that Essentials tier. Inventory is still absent until you move to a Plus-level plan. If those 4 people also need inventory, Workforce Premium plus Plus at USD 203 plus USD 10 per employee is the stack that matches, and 18 employees make the employee line USD 180. List total USD 383 per month after the intro, USD 4,596 per year, for a plan that still caps posting users at the Plus limit of 5 unless you step up to Advanced.

Accountant seats are the quiet allowance. US paid plans below Advanced include 2 accountants. Advanced includes 3. In Canada, one external accountant does not count toward the user limit. Your fractional CFO can sit in that seat. A warehouse lead who receives inventory cannot. Count people who post, and put accountants in the free seats only when the plan includes them.

Classes and locations are a design choice with a cap. Plus stops at 40 combined classes and locations in both the US and Canada grids. A distributor with 12 branches and a class per product line can hit 40 without noticing. Advanced removes that cap and adds custom permissions. A sixth person who must post cannot stay on Plus. Advanced is USD 340 a month for up to 25 users. That jump is easier to justify if more posting users are coming, and it is a lot of unused seats if headcount stays at 6 and you do not need the Advanced features. Custom permissions are a separate reason to quote Advanced, not the reason the sixth user forces the step.

Two worked license pictures

Assume a single US legal entity, 6 people who post invoices, bills, and stock, and no manufacturing. Plus stops at 5 users, so QuickBooks Online Advanced is the fit: USD 340 per month list, USD 4,080 per year after any three-month intro. Sage 50 Premium, on the 24 October 2024 range, could land anywhere from USD 103.92 to USD 239.17 per month depending on users, or USD 1,247.04 to USD 2,870.04 per year, with an annual commitment and with job costing included. Quantum's one-user start of USD 177.17 does not price those 6 users. Business Central Essentials for 6 full users is 6 times USD 80, USD 480 per month, USD 5,760 per year, paid yearly. On subscription dollars alone, Advanced is the smaller check, and a Sage Premium quote inside that published range is smaller still. Business Central is the larger subscription when the company is one entity and the work is accounting plus inventory.

Change the assumption to two US legal entities, 5 posting users in each, inventory in both. Two QuickBooks Online Advanced subscriptions are 2 times USD 340, USD 680 per month, USD 8,160 per year, and you still close two files. A Canada-style multi-company phone discount, if a US rep offered something similar, would change the 680. It would not merge the ledgers. Ten Business Central Essentials users are 10 times USD 80, USD 800 per month, USD 9,600 per year, paid yearly. The ERP subscription is higher by USD 1,440 per year in this picture. What you buy with that difference is consolidation across companies, including different charts, years, currencies, and environments, with eliminations posted as a manual journal. If those two companies stay separate books and nobody consolidates, the two Advanced files remain the cheaper published price.

Canada, same two-entity shape, using Canadian Business Central list prices. Put the QuickBooks CAD checkout beside them, since the durable list rates sit on that checkout. Ten Essentials users at CAD 108.50 are CAD 1,085 per month, CAD 13,020 per year, plus tax, paid yearly. Put your QuickBooks checkout, times two companies, next to that CAD 13,020. If the pair of Online subscriptions is lower and you can live with two files through the GST/HST electronic filing cycle, stay. If the owner is rebuilding a combined balance sheet in a workbook every month, the CAD 13,020 is the license line of the alternative, and implementation sits on top of it.

Team Members at USD 8 or CAD 10.90 only belong in the math for people whose work fits that license. Have Microsoft's license guide shown against each role before you multiply USD 8 by the warehouse. A full user priced as a team user is a false saving that shows up at go-live.

The cost of switching brands, then switching again

A brand swap inside accounting software is a second project with the same shape of system. Sage 50 to QuickBooks, or QuickBooks to Sage 50, moves the company file. You still have one file per company, inventory as that product tracks it, and project cost as that edition reports it. History conversion, report rebuilds, and retraining are the project. A second company still closes in a second file.

Intuit publishes one migration figure on the Desktop solutions page. A move from QuickBooks Desktop to Intuit Enterprise Suite, managed by Intuit, is included for Desktop customers and is described as worth up to USD 9,000. That figure is the stated value of Intuit's own service for Desktop customers moving to Intuit Enterprise Suite. Price a move to Business Central, or from Sage 50 to QuickBooks Online, as its own project. Ask each bidder to price data migration as its own line: opening trial balance, open invoices and bills, items, and open orders, with a named owner for what gets left behind.

If the destination is Business Central, read the path that matches your file. Our Sage 50 to Business Central migration guide covers leaving the desktop company file. Our QuickBooks to Business Central migration guide covers leaving Online or Desktop. A finance implementation is the scope when the first phase is the chart of accounts, the close, and consolidations, with inventory staged behind it.

How to choose in the next thirty days

Run this in order. Each step has a document you can file with the renewal.

  1. Count posting users, accountant seats, and employees on payroll. Match them to a named QuickBooks plan from the US or Canada grid, and to a Sage 50 edition on a fresh quote. If Canada Desktop 2023 or older is in the building, put 31 May 2026 on the same page as the support-end date.
  2. Write the entity map. One legal entity keeps the QuickBooks or Sage quote in the lead. Two or more puts Business Central Essentials at USD 80 or CAD 108.50 per full user per month, paid yearly, on the same page, plus the manual elimination step.
  3. Pick one messy workflow and ask for a demonstration on your data: a multi-location item, a job with payroll and purchasing, or a GST/HST return you will file electronically. Watch the posting, then keep the screenshot with the quote.
  4. Separate three prices on every proposal: subscription, payroll, and migration. A single blended fee hides the history conversion.
  5. Decide the horizon. If you expect a second company or a plant inside two years, compare the ERP subscription now, while the accounting renewal is the alternative. If you are a single entity inside the Plus or Premium caps, pay the accounting subscription and schedule the same test at the next renewal.

The useful outcome is a one-page choice: the edition, the annual cost at list after promos, the user and entity caps, and the workflow you watched on your own data. Renew Sage 50 or QuickBooks when that page still fits inside one company file. Open a Business Central scope when the page shows a second file, a user cap you will cross, or a job and stock process the demonstration could not post.

How Flectic can help

Flectic implements Microsoft Dynamics 365 for finance teams of 20 to 100 people in the US and Canada that have outgrown QuickBooks or Sage and need multi-entity finance, tighter approvals or Power BI reporting. At Microsoft's 2026 list prices, which are separate from Flectic fees, Business Central Essentials is $80 per user a month and Premium is $110. Compare the Microsoft Dynamics 365 implementation service with your current license quote before you decide. Book a free discovery call with Flectic to get a recommended first phase or a clear reason to wait.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Is there an annual billing option, and does it save money?

On the US QuickBooks pricing page, paid plans state no annual contract and you can cancel anytime. In Canada, Intuit says annual billing typically saves about 10 percent versus month-to-month, the discount varies by plan, and it generally does not stack with a buy-now introductory monthly promotion. Sage 50 Pro, Premium, and Quantum, on Intuit's 24 October 2024 citation, require an annual commitment. Confirm the Sage term on a current quote.

Do QuickBooks plans come with payroll?

US QuickBooks payroll is a separate Workforce bundle. As of October 2026, Workforce Payroll plus Simple Start lists at USD 88 per month plus USD 6.50 per employee per month, Workforce Payroll plus Essentials lists at USD 125 per month plus USD 6.50 per employee per month, and Workforce Premium plus Plus lists at USD 203 per month plus USD 10 per employee per month, before a three-month discount on the base. In Canada, payroll is a paid add-on named Core, Premium, or Elite that calculates CPP, EI, and income tax and can produce T4 and T4A slips. Take the Canadian dollar amount from checkout.

What is the difference between QuickBooks Online and QuickBooks Desktop?

QuickBooks Online is the cloud subscription with plan caps from 1 user on Simple Start to 25 on Advanced. QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise, on Intuit's Desktop page, goes to 40 users and up to 1 million customers, vendors, and inventory items. In Canada, Desktop is no longer sold to new subscribers, and support for Desktop 2023 and older ends after 31 May 2026. Existing Canadian Desktop subscribers can keep using the product they already have.

How many users does Sage 50 Quantum allow, and is the price annual?

Intuit's comparison, citing Sage as of 24 October 2024, lists Quantum Accounting at USD 177.17 per month for one user, up to 40 users, with an annual commitment. The extra-user price is not in that citation, so a multi-user Quantum budget is incomplete until Sage writes the add-on. Those figures are a dated reference. Ask Sage for the 2026 price before you compare it with QuickBooks Advanced at USD 340 per month.

What makes QuickBooks a good alternative to Sage?

QuickBooks Online is cloud software with a published US price and, on the US page, no annual contract. Inventory and project profitability start at Plus, which lists at USD 140 per month for 5 users as of October 2026. Sage 50, in Intuit's description, is desktop software with remote access and cloud backups, an annual commitment, and job costing on Premium. QuickBooks fits when you want a cloud file inside those user caps. Sage 50 still fits when the desktop reports and job costing are the work you already run.

Which QuickBooks plan is best for a small business?

Match the plan to people who post and to whether you track stock. In the US, Simple Start is 1 user at USD 38 list, Essentials is 3 users at USD 85, and neither includes inventory tracking. Plus at USD 140 adds inventory and project profitability for 5 users. Advanced at USD 340 covers up to 25 users. In Canada the parallel names are Lite, EasyStart, Essentials, Plus, and Advanced, and the CAD checkout price should come from the live page because promotions change the first months.