Top CRM for financial advisors: how to choose in 2026
For a US advisory practice of about 2 to 25 people, the CRM choice with public list prices in October 2026 comes down to Redtail, Wealthbox, or a general platform you finish yourself.
For a US advisory practice of about 2 to 25 people, the CRM choice with public list prices in October 2026 comes down to Redtail, Wealthbox, or a general platform you finish yourself. Redtail Growth is USD 59 per user per month billed yearly, with no user cap. Wealthbox Pro is USD 75 per user per month and is the first Wealthbox tier that includes workflows and two-way email sync. Dynamics 365 Sales Professional lists at USD 65 per user per month paid yearly, in the same seat band, and still needs household records, retention, e-sign, a portal, and planning feeds added.
XY Planning Network puts Wealthbox and Redtail as the usual fit for a solo or launching RIA, and says growing firms can stay on those tools when workflows are documented. The same guide reserves Practifi and Salesforce Financial Services Cloud, including XLR8, for multi-advisor firms that already have admin help, and it describes Tamarac CRM as Microsoft Dynamics-based. Practifi, Salesforce FSC, and XLR8 have no public seat price beside the rates below, so they stay off the cost table. Score the shortlist in one afternoon before you treat a ranked list as a buying order. XYPN's warning, on that guide, is "Don't pick a CRM based on sticker price alone."
What advisor CRM seats cost as of October 2026
Prices below are vendor list rates as of October 2026. They change, and several vendors say the figure on the page is informational. Confirm the number at checkout, including billing cadence, because Wealthbox does not say whether USD 59, USD 75, and USD 99 are annual-commit rates or month-to-month, and the Salesforce page does not confirm annual versus monthly commitment in the text that lists the editions.
- Redtail Launch, billed yearly (List price: USD 39 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Maximum 5 users. Core CRM. Automated workflows, Suite Sync, Imaging, and Speak are not included.)
- Redtail Launch, billed monthly (List price: USD 45 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Same 5 user cap and the same exclusions.)
- Redtail Growth, billed yearly (List price: USD 59 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Unlimited users. Adds process workflows, automation, viewing permissions, Imaging (200 GB), and Speak.)
- Redtail Growth, billed monthly (List price: USD 65 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Same Growth scope. Speak is subject to broker-dealer approval.)
- Redtail Enterprise (List price: Custom · What the price page states about scope: Minimum license commitment. Price is quoted.)
- Wealthbox Basic (List price: USD 59 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Households, tasks, one opportunity pipeline, calendar, 2 GB storage.)
- Wealthbox Pro (List price: USD 75 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Adds workflows, two-way email sync, broadcast email, three pipelines.)
- Wealthbox Premier (List price: USD 99 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Adds customizable dashboards and homepages, workflow template sharing, five workspaces.)
- Wealthbox Enterprise (List price: Custom · What the price page states about scope: Quoted.)
- Wealthbox AI Notetaker (List price: USD 49 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Add-on on every plan, stated as an introductory rate.)
- Dynamics 365 Sales Professional (List price: USD 65 per user per month, paid yearly · What the price page states about scope: Microsoft says displayed prices are informational and the checkout price governs.)
- Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise (List price: USD 105 per user per month, paid yearly · What the price page states about scope: Same informational caveat.)
- Dynamics 365 Sales Premium (List price: USD 150 per user per month, paid yearly · What the price page states about scope: Same informational caveat.)
- Salesforce Starter Suite (List price: USD 25 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Page is informational and subject to change.)
- Salesforce Pro Suite (List price: USD 100 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Same caveat. Commitment length was not stated with these figures.)
- Salesforce Core (List price: USD 195 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Same caveat. Advanced is USD 395 and Max is USD 550 on the same page.)
- Odoo one app free (List price: USD 0 · What the price page states about scope: Unlimited users on Odoo Online for that single app.)
- Odoo Standard (List price: Two pairs on the page: USD 24.90 and USD 31.10, and USD 31.10 and USD 38.90, per user per month · What the price page states about scope: All apps, including CRM and Sign. Discount note: 12 months for initial users ordered.)
- Odoo Custom (List price: Two pairs: USD 49.00 and USD 61.00, and USD 61.00 and USD 76.20, per user per month · What the price page states about scope: All apps, plus Studio, multi-company, and external API. Odoo.sh hosting is extra.)
- Odoo Light User (List price: USD 8.90 · What the price page states about scope: Employee self-service style access, not a full CRM user.)
- Zoho CRM Plus (List price: Starts at USD 20 per user per month · What the price page states about scope: Edition and commitment are not specified on that line. A free edition covers up to 3 users.)
Sources for the table, in row order: Redtail plans, Wealthbox pricing, Dynamics 365 Sales pricing, Salesforce Sales pricing, Odoo pricing, and Zoho CRM pricing. Microsoft Relationship Sales is variable and requires a 10 seat minimum, so it sits outside a 2 to 25 person shortlist unless you already need that bundle. Salesforce also lists a Free Suite at USD 0.
Odoo is the row that is easy to misread. The pricing page shows two US dollar pairs for Standard and two for Custom, plus a note that the discount is valid for 12 months for the initial users ordered. Quote both numbers in any proposal. Keep the pairs intact. Zoho's public pricing page shows Standard, Professional, and Enterprise in Indian rupees (₹800, ₹1,400, and ₹2,400 per user per month). Those rupee figures are not a US seat price. Ask Zoho for a USD quote for the edition you will trial, and use the USD 20 CRM Plus starting line only as a floor.
Where each published plan stops
The seat price is a gate on features. For a practice that will pass five people, Redtail Launch is the wrong contract even when the monthly rate looks low. Launch is capped at 5 users and withholds automated workflows, Suite Sync, Imaging, and Speak. Growth, at USD 59 billed yearly or USD 65 billed monthly, removes the cap and adds process workflows, automation, viewing permissions, document storage (Imaging, 200 GB), and compliant texting (Speak, subject to broker-dealer approval). A sixth login moves the firm onto Growth.
Wealthbox splits the same way one tier earlier than people expect. Basic, at USD 59 per user per month, covers contact and household management, tasks, one opportunity pipeline, calendar, and 2 GB of storage. Workflows and two-way email sync arrive on Pro, at USD 75. Premier, at USD 99, is the tier that adds customizable dashboards and homepages, shared workflow templates, and five workspaces. Enterprise is custom. The AI Notetaker add-on is USD 49 per user per month at the stated introductory rate, on every plan. Wealthbox states that the plans compared are SOC 2 Type II certified and include compliant note archiving, two-factor authentication, and session timeout.
Dynamics 365 Sales Professional at USD 65 paid yearly is close to Redtail Growth and Wealthbox Pro on the seat line. The license is a sales CRM. Microsoft's pricing page says Power Automate and Power Apps workflows require additional licenses, and that the price you pay is the checkout price. Sales Enterprise at USD 105 and Sales Premium at USD 150 raise the seat cost before any advisor-specific work starts. A practice that only needs pipeline and activity tracking can stay on Professional. A practice that needs household records and custodian or planning data in the client screen is buying a project on top of that license. Our Dynamics 365 Sales implementation work is that project: the data model and the flows, priced apart from the Microsoft subscription.
Salesforce Pro Suite at USD 100 per user per month is already above Wealthbox Premier's seat rate, and Core at USD 195 is a different budget. The pricing page says the figures are informational and subject to change. Financial Services Cloud, Practifi, and XLR8 do not have a public seat price in the rates above. If the demo is an FSC demo, ask for the edition name and the per-user figure in writing before you compare it with Redtail Growth.
On Odoo, Standard and Custom include all apps, CRM and Sign among them, for the single per-user fee. The one-app-free plan is USD 0 with unlimited users on Odoo Online. Odoo Sign, taken as that one free app, is described as free forever with unlimited users, including hosting and support, until more apps are installed. The moment you install CRM beside Sign, you are on a paid plan. Light users at USD 8.90 are for limited employee access, not for advisors who update client records. Portal users, such as clients, are not paying users.
Zoho CRM Professional, on the feature list shown beside the rupee prices, includes custom portals. Enterprise adds field-level encryption and a developer sandbox. That is a product feature. It is not a claim that those portals satisfy an adviser's books-and-records duties.
How to score a shortlist in one afternoon
Block four hours. Score what a 2 to 25 person team can see in a demo with your own households. Give each row 0 (absent or clumsy), 1 (present, with extra clicks), or 2 (present, and an advisor would use it next week). Nine rows, maximum 18. A tool under 10 is a weak buy even when the seat price is the lowest on the invoice.
- Household record (What a 2 looks like: Spouses, children, trusts, and related entities sit on one household, with one primary contact. · What a 0 looks like: Each person is a flat contact and someone re-links them in a spreadsheet.)
- Onboarding workflow (What a 2 looks like: A new client kicks off a checklist with owners and due dates your staff already recognize. · What a 0 looks like: Tasks are personal to-dos with no shared sequence.)
- Email and calendar sync (What a 2 looks like: Two-way sync, so a reply on the phone lands on the household. · What a 0 looks like: BCC-to-CRM or a one-way copy that staff forget.)
- Note audit trail (What a 2 looks like: Notes are timestamped and you can see who edited them. · What a 0 looks like: The note is a free-text box with no history.)
- One planning integration (What a 2 looks like: A link or data pull to the tool you use, such as eMoney, MoneyGuide, or RightCapital. · What a 0 looks like: Staff re-key goals after every meeting.)
- One portfolio or performance feed (What a 2 looks like: A feed you use today, such as Orion, Tamarac, Black Diamond, or Advyzon, shows in the CRM. · What a 0 looks like: Balances live only in the portfolio app.)
- E-sign from the record (What a 2 looks like: Send, reminder, and signed PDF land on the household without a second login ritual. · What a 0 looks like: Someone downloads, uploads, and files by hand.)
- Permissions (What a 2 looks like: A new associate sees their households and not another advisor's. · What a 0 looks like: Everyone sees everything, or an admin rebuilds access by hand.)
- Year-two admin (What a 2 looks like: You can name who edits workflows after go-live, and that person has the hours. · What a 0 looks like: The only person who understands the setup is the salesperson.)
XYPN's checklist for advisor CRMs is the same family of tests: household records, two-way email and calendar sync, tasks and workflows, timestamped notes, and integrations with planning tools (eMoney, MoneyGuide, RightCapital), portfolio tools (Orion, Tamarac, Black Diamond, Advyzon), e-sign (DocuSign, Adobe), and scheduling (Calendly). The guide's line on adoption is "Adoption beats feature lists." A customer comment on the Redtail pricing page points the same way: "I've used several CRMs in the past, including Salesforce and in-house systems, and Redtail has been by far the easiest to learn and use."
After the nine rows, write the annual seat total from the next sections and name the person who will edit workflows next year. If nobody on staff will own the CRM for about two hours a week, a niche tool with workflows already shaped for an RIA will outscore a cheaper general seat. An advisor thread excerpt dated April 2026 says the same thing about unused systems: "If the CRM requires too much clicking around or has confusing interface, it just doesn't get used properly. I've seen expensive setups collect dust." (thread excerpt)
What a general CRM still needs before it behaves like an advisor CRM
This is the gap that sticker price hides. XYPN treats householding, workflows, and the planning and portfolio integrations as native expectations of an advisor CRM. A general CRM can reach the same outcome, and you buy or build each gap. Five items decide whether Dynamics 365, Odoo, Salesforce, or Zoho is cheaper than Redtail Growth or Wealthbox Pro once the practice is using it.
- Household and relationship model. Advisors think in households: spouses, beneficiaries, entities, and which person the recommendation is for. Sales CRMs start from accounts and contacts. Someone has to design that model, migrate it, and keep staff from creating a second contact for the same person. Budget this as configuration and data work on its own line. Ask each bidder to price the household import with a count of households and a rule for duplicates.
- Books-and-records retention for notes and for email. For an SEC-registered adviser, Rule 204-2 requires originals of written communications received and copies of written communications sent that relate to recommendations or advice, receipt or delivery of funds or securities, and orders. Most books and records must be kept at least five years from the end of the fiscal year of the last entry, the first two years in an appropriate office. Electronic storage is allowed when records can be located, produced, and duplicated, and access is limited. XYPN's wording is the practical split: "CRM notes help, but you still need compliant archiving for email/IM and a retention policy under SEC Rule 204-2." A CRM note archive, including Wealthbox's compliant note archiving, does not retire that email and messaging duty. The deeper pattern for regulated firms is in our guide to CRM for financial services.
- E-sign. Odoo Sign states compliance with the US ESIGN Act and eIDAS, and includes an audit log, signing order, reminders, and optional SMS authentication. On Standard or Custom it is inside the per-user app fee. As the single free app it stays free until you add another app. If you keep Docusign, Personal is USD 11 per month with an annual commitment of USD 132, billed monthly, and 5 envelopes per month. Standard is USD 30 per user per month (annual commitment of USD 360) and Business Pro is USD 45 per user per month (annual commitment of USD 540). Standard and Business Pro include 100 envelopes per user per year. Integrations to Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, and NetSuite are listed as contact-sales. They are not included in Standard or Business Pro. Price the connector as a separate quote. Do not assume the seat includes it.
- Client portal. If you build an authenticated portal on Dataverse beside Dynamics 365, Power Pages authenticated-user capacity is USD 200 for 100 users per site per month, paid yearly. That license is separate from Dynamics 365 Sales. One site and up to 100 authenticated clients is USD 2,400 a year before anyone designs the pages. Odoo portal users are not paying users, which keeps the seat count down, and the portal is still a website you configure. It is not, by itself, an advisor document vault with a retention schedule. Zoho CRM Professional lists custom portals as a feature. Confirm what the client can see, what is logged, and how long files stay.
- Planning and portfolio feeds, one at a time. XYPN names eMoney, MoneyGuide, RightCapital, Orion, Tamarac, Black Diamond, Advyzon, DocuSign, Adobe, and Calendly as the integration set advisors should expect to evaluate. On a niche CRM those names are usually a settings screen. On a general CRM each one is an integration with an owner, a failure alert, and a renewal. Ask the bidder to show the feed on your household during the demo. Specific custodian file layouts (which firm, which file, how often) belong in that demo. Get them in writing from the integration owner.
A general CRM that also runs the rest of the firm can still be the better buy. The comparison to make first is whether you are shopping for an advisor CRM or for a system that also covers pipeline, billing, and documents. Our look at the best CRM for small business is the general-platform side of that question. This page stays on the independent practice.
What changes if you are an SEC-registered adviser
Rule 204-2 applies to registered investment advisers under that SEC rule. It is the wrong citation to hand a state-registered-only firm as if the federal section automatically governed them. If you are state-registered only, ask counsel which books-and-records rule applies, then map the CRM and the email archive to that rule. The five-year and two-year figures in this section are the SEC rule's figures.
Read the retention clock carefully. The five years run from the end of the fiscal year of the last entry, and the first two years must be in an appropriate office. A one-time CSV export is a weak answer in an exam if you cannot locate, produce, and duplicate the record, or if access is wider than the rule allows. Put the archive product, the office copy, and the access list in the same one-page policy. The CRM vendor's SOC 2 report supports security claims. It does not write that policy for you.
Wealthbox's pricing page states SOC 2 Type II certification and compliant note archiving on the plans compared. That is a reason to test note history in the demo. It is still a note feature. Email and messaging archives remain a second system with their own retention schedule. Redtail Speak is compliant texting on Growth and above, subject to broker-dealer approval. If your broker-dealer has not approved Speak, Growth does not by itself give you compliant texting.
When you score the note row, ask the vendor to edit a note, show the timestamp, export the household, and say how long the export is kept. Then ask your email-archive vendor the same four questions for messages that contain a recommendation. If either answer is vague, the CRM decision is not finished.
When the niche tool fits the next 24 months
XYPN's horizon is the useful one: "Buying for “someday.” Choose the CRM that fits your next 24 months." A niche tool wins when you want householding, workflows, and advisor-app integrations in the first 90 days and you do not have an internal admin. Wealthbox Pro is the first Wealthbox tier with workflows and two-way email sync. Redtail Growth is the unlimited-user tier that adds process workflows, automation, viewing permissions, Imaging (200 GB), and Speak (subject to broker-dealer approval). Launch and Basic will frustrate a team that expected those features from a top-CRM roundup.
A boutique-RIA comment on the Redtail pricing page matches that stage: "As a boutique RIA, Redtail has been a great fit for us." Another user on that page says "Workflows are the best in the industry and I have used several CRMs." Treat both as vendor-page comments, then prove them on your onboarding checklist. If the workflow in the demo does not match the emails your assistant already sends, the comment is about someone else's firm.
The niche tool costs attention as well as seats when the next 24 months include more than the CRM. You are about to add a sixth user to a Launch contract. You want proposals, projects, and invoices in the same client record as the household. A portfolio feed that cannot be joined to billing is already in the way. Those are reasons to look at a general platform and pay for the five gaps. A 5 user Launch plan, or a CRM that cannot share data with the rest of the firm, is the setup you are leaving.
Stay on Wealthbox or Redtail when the scorecard is 12 or higher, the year-two admin is a named person, and operations outside the CRM are tolerable. Move the evaluation to Dynamics 365 or Odoo when at least two of the five gaps are mandatory and you already feel the pain of a second system for billing or delivery. Practifi, Salesforce FSC, and XLR8 stay off this shortlist until you have admin capacity. XYPN puts them there for multi-advisor firms. Buying them for a later stage is how a four-person office ends up with a CRM nobody opens.
What list price includes and what a specialist still does
Redtail and Wealthbox sell the product at the list rates above. Their pages also point buyers to migration help and a trial. You should use both. Load 25 real households, run one onboarding workflow, and connect the calendar before the trial clock ends. If the import scrambles spouses and trusts, the seat price was never the cost.
Odoo states that implementation is not included in the subscription. Firms under 50 employees usually buy Success Packs from Odoo. Firms over 50 usually use a partner. No dollar amount for those packs appears on the pricing page, so ask for the pack scope in writing: data import, household model, Sign templates, and which apps are in the first phase. Our Odoo work for a small firm is that scope, phased, with your staff owning the result after handover.
Dynamics 365 has a similar split. The Sales Professional seat is the license. Power Automate and Power Apps need more licenses if your workflows live there. Power Pages is another license if clients log into a portal. Docusign's Dynamics connector is a contact-sales item. None of those lines are implementation labor. Labor is the household model, the retention settings, the two integrations, the permission matrix, and the training sessions your admin will repeat for the next hire.
That is the engagement we take on CRM implementation. We build the gaps on Dynamics 365 or Odoo when a general system is the better home for the next 24 months. A niche seat you can buy from the vendor stays a direct purchase. Our target for a first usable phase is 8 to 12 weeks: household records your team will open, one onboarding workflow, retention you can explain, and one integration shown on your data. Later phases pick up the portal and the second feed. You keep the configuration. A trial of Redtail or Wealthbox remains the right move when the scorecard says the niche tool already does that phase.
Ask any specialist, including us, for named people, hours, and references from a practice of similar headcount. Ask who owns the workflow definitions if the relationship ends. Have that specialist run the afternoon scorecard on your households during the sales process.
What six users cost on published rates
Assume six people who each need a full CRM login, yearly billing where the vendor states it, no AI Notetaker, and a full year at the October 2026 list rate. Wealthbox does not state billing cadence, so the Wealthbox column is 12 times the published monthly rate. Salesforce does not state commitment length next to these rates, so treat that column the same way: 12 times the published monthly rate, then reconcile at checkout.
- Redtail Launch (Annual list math: Not available for 6 users · What is still outside this number: The plan caps at 5 users. Five users at USD 39 billed yearly is USD 2,340, and the sixth login forces Growth.)
- Redtail Growth, billed yearly (Annual list math: 6 x USD 59 x 12 = USD 4,248 · What is still outside this number: Workflows, Imaging (200 GB), and Speak are in the plan. Speak still needs broker-dealer approval. Planning feeds are a demo item, not a dollar line on this page.)
- Wealthbox Basic (Annual list math: 6 x USD 59 x 12 = USD 4,248 · What is still outside this number: Same dollars as Growth, without workflows or two-way email sync. Storage is 2 GB.)
- Wealthbox Pro (Annual list math: 6 x USD 75 x 12 = USD 5,400 · What is still outside this number: Workflows, two-way email sync, broadcast email, three pipelines. AI Notetaker for all six, at the USD 49 introductory rate, would add 6 x USD 49 x 12 = USD 3,528.)
- Wealthbox Premier (Annual list math: 6 x USD 99 x 12 = USD 7,128 · What is still outside this number: Dashboards, template sharing, five workspaces. Same Notetaker math if you add it.)
- Dynamics 365 Sales Professional (Annual list math: 6 x USD 65 x 12 = USD 4,680 · What is still outside this number: Checkout price may differ. Portal capacity on Power Pages is USD 200 x 12 = USD 2,400 for 100 authenticated users on one site. One Docusign Standard user is USD 30 x 12 = USD 360, and the Dynamics connector is quoted separately. Extra Power Automate or Power Apps licenses are extra.)
- Salesforce Pro Suite (Annual list math: 6 x USD 100 x 12 = USD 7,200 · What is still outside this number: Informational rate. Starter at 6 x USD 25 x 12 = USD 1,800 is cheaper and still needs the five gaps. Core at 6 x USD 195 x 12 = USD 14,040 is a different budget.)
- Odoo Standard (Annual list math: Do not collapse the pairs. At USD 24.90 the six seats are USD 149.40 a month. At USD 38.90 they are USD 233.40 a month. · What is still outside this number: The page shows USD 24.90 and USD 31.10, and also USD 31.10 and USD 38.90. The discount note covers 12 months for initial users. Sign is included in the same per-user fee, and portal users such as clients are not paying users. Implementation and Success Packs are outside the subscription. The pricing page does not list a pack price.)
Read the table in pairs. Redtail Growth at USD 4,248 and Wealthbox Basic at USD 4,248 are the same annual arithmetic, and they are different products. Basic still lacks workflows and two-way email sync. Wealthbox Pro at USD 5,400 is the Wealthbox tier that matches the afternoon tests for workflow and email. The USD 1,152 gap versus Growth is the premium for that tier, before Notetaker.
Dynamics 365 Sales Professional at USD 4,680 looks close to Growth until you add a portal. USD 4,680 plus USD 2,400 of Power Pages is USD 7,080, before a Docusign connector quote and before anyone is paid to build households. One Docusign Standard seat at USD 360 does not close that gap. If all six advisors send envelopes, Standard is 6 x USD 30 x 12 = USD 2,160, and you are at USD 4,680 + USD 2,400 + USD 2,160 = USD 9,240 before implementation. That stack can still be the right buy when billing and delivery have to live with the household. It is a weak buy if all you wanted was Redtail Growth's workflow.
Odoo's subscription can land lower than Growth when the pair on your order is the lower one and when implementation is still unpaid. Six users at the low displayed Standard figure of USD 24.90 is USD 1,792.80 a year (6 times 24.90 times 12). Six users at the high displayed Standard figure of USD 38.90 is USD 2,800.80 a year (6 times 38.90 times 12). Odoo notes that the discount is valid for 12 months for the initial users ordered. Custom's pairs (USD 49.00 and USD 61.00, and USD 61.00 and USD 76.20) move the subscription toward Pro money: six users at USD 49.00 is USD 3,528 a year, and six at USD 76.20 is USD 5,486.40. Sign is inside the fee, so you are not adding Docusign's USD 360 unless you prefer Docusign. You still need a household model, a retention policy, and the planning feed. Those are services, and the pricing page does not price them.
Add the four-person case only to see Launch clearly. Four users on Launch billed yearly is 4 x USD 39 x 12 = USD 1,872. The same four on monthly billing is 4 x USD 45 x 12 = USD 2,160. You saved money and you do not have automated workflows, Suite Sync, Imaging, or Speak. If the scorecard's workflow row matters this year, Growth at 4 x USD 59 x 12 = USD 2,832 is the Redtail number to compare with Wealthbox Pro at 4 x USD 75 x 12 = USD 3,600.
How to use the scorecard with vendors this week
Run the same script with two niche tools and one general platform. More demos dilute the comparison.
- Export 25 households from whatever you use now, including at least five with a trust or a joint account and five with a stalled onboarding. If the current system is a spreadsheet, the export is the spreadsheet, saved as of today.
- Book Redtail Growth when a sixth login is coming, or when you need process workflows, automation, viewing permissions, Imaging (200 GB), or Speak (broker-dealer approval). Launch excludes automated workflows, Suite Sync, Imaging, and Speak, and it caps at 5 users. If Suite Sync is a requirement, ask Redtail which plan includes it. Book Wealthbox on Pro, not Basic, unless you have already decided email sync can wait.
- Book one general platform demo, Dynamics 365 Sales or Odoo, and send the five gaps in advance. Ask them to show the household, one e-sign, and one planning or portfolio link on your rows.
- Score during the call. A 0 on household or on email sync is a failed demo even when the deck is polished.
- After the calls, write the annual list total from the table and a one-line note on who administers the system next year. Then decide. If the niche scores are tied, pick the one your most skeptical advisor could open without help. If the general platform is cheaper on the annual table and weaker in the demo, scope a configuration phase or stay on the niche tool.
Bring the completed scorecard to the call if you want us to pressure-test the totals. We will tell you when Redtail or Wealthbox is the better purchase and when the gaps on Dynamics 365 or Odoo are worth a first phase.
How Flectic can help
Flectic sets up Dynamics 365 Sales around how your team sells, with clear stage rules and quotes on the opportunity, for sales teams of 20 to 100 people in the US and Canada with long, considered cycles. A practice of 2 to 25 people should compare the niche tools in this guide before it commits to a general platform. A fixed-price first phase delivers a working pipeline before you commit the full budget. Review the Dynamics 365 Sales service, then book a free discovery call with Flectic.
Sources
- Wealthbox CRM Pricing, Wealthbox, October 2026
- Redtail Plans, Redtail Technology, October 2026
- Dynamics 365 Sales pricing, Microsoft, October 2026
- Salesforce Sales Pricing, Salesforce, October 2026
- Odoo Pricing, Odoo, October 2026
- Odoo Sign, Odoo, October 2026
- Docusign eSignature plans, Docusign, October 2026
- Power Pages pricing, Microsoft, October 2026
- 17 CFR § 275.204-2, Legal Information Institute, October 2026
- Best CRM Software for Financial Advisors in 2026, XY Planning Network, August 2026
- Zoho CRM Pricing and Editions, Zoho, October 2026
- Advisor CRM thread excerpt, Reddit, April 2026
Frequently asked questions
What is a CRM and why do financial advisors need it?
A CRM holds the household, the tasks, and the record of client conversations. Advisors need one when spouses, entities, and follow-ups no longer fit on a spreadsheet and when more than one person must see the same client. The seat you buy should show a household, an onboarding workflow, and an email trail your staff will update the day of the meeting.
Will Wealthbox or Redtail still work once we are past five people?
Redtail Launch stops at five users and leaves out automated workflows, Suite Sync, Imaging, and Speak. Past that headcount, Growth is the Redtail plan, at USD 59 per user per month billed yearly. Wealthbox does not publish a five-user cap on Basic, Pro, or Premier. Workflows and two-way email sync start on Pro at USD 75 per user per month, so Basic is a weak match once the team has left a shared inbox.
Does a general CRM replace compliant email archiving?
For an SEC-registered adviser, CRM notes do not replace archiving of email and messages that relate to advice, funds, or orders. Most books and records under Rule 204-2 must be kept at least five years from the end of the fiscal year of the last entry, the first two years in an appropriate office. A state-registered-only firm should ask counsel which books-and-records rule applies before using that federal clock.
What has to be added to Dynamics 365 or Odoo before it behaves like an advisor CRM?
Plan on a household model, a retention policy, e-sign, a client portal, and at least one planning or portfolio feed. Odoo Sign is included with the paid apps, and portal users are not paying users. Dynamics 365 Sales does not include Power Pages, and a Docusign connector for Dynamics is quoted separately from the e-sign seat. Odoo implementation is outside the subscription, so ask for Success Pack scope in writing.
How should a US firm read Zoho CRM prices when the page shows rupees?
Zoho CRM Plus starts at USD 20 per user per month, and a free edition covers up to three users. Standard, Professional, and Enterprise are shown on the public page in Indian rupees, so those figures are not a US seat quote. Ask Zoho for the USD rate for the edition you will trial. A custom portal on Professional still leaves books-and-records retention as your policy.
What is the best CRM for financial advisors in 2025?
Score October 2026 list prices. Redtail Growth is USD 59 per user per month billed yearly, with no user cap. Wealthbox Pro is USD 75 per user per month and is the first Wealthbox tier with workflows and two-way email sync. A 2025 roundup that names a winner without those plan gates can send a six-person firm to a five-user contract.